Negreanu, Jack McClelland Become 2014 Poker Hall Of Fame Inductees

Negreanu, Jack McClelland Become 2014 Poker Hall Of Fame InducteesThe Poker Hall of Fame has announced that Daniel Negreanu and Jack McClelland are to be this year’s newest inductees, with an official ceremony marking their admission to take place on November 9th on the eve of the 2014 WSOP Main Event final table.
While Daniel Negreanu, 40, was admitted for being one of the most successful and recognizable poker players on the planet, Jack McClelland, 63, was chosen for his tireless efforts in the industry, including being the tournament director for the WSOP in the 1980’s.
Daniel Negreanu
Throughout his illustrious poker career, Daniel Negreanu has amassed a total of $29,796,380 in live tournament winnings, placing him at number one on the ‘All Time Money List’ The Canadian pro has also captured 6 WSOP bracelets and two WPT championship titles along the way, and in 2004 and 2013 was named the WSOP Player of the Year, making him the first player in history to win the honour more than once.
In addition to his impressive poker skills, Negreanu is considered one of the few superstars of the game, and over the years the opinionated, outgoing pro has helped promote the game of poker to a wider audience. Commenting on his induction to the Poker Hall of Fame, Negreanu said:
“It’s an honor to be inducted alongside so many great players that have come before me. An even bigger honor to be recognized at age 40, the same age as the legend Chip Reese. Thank you to the living members of the Poker Hall of Fame and those on the Blue Ribbon Media Panel that voted for me.”
Jack McClelland
Jack McClelland was the WSOP tournament director throughout the 1980’s, and from 2002-2013 he also ran the Bellagio poker room in Las Vegas. McClelland entry into the HOF acknowledges his contribution in helping spread the popularity of tournament poker across the globe, and comes shortly after the 63 year-old recently retired from health problems. Commenting on his inclusion in the Poker Hall Of Fame, McClelland said:
“Being inducted into the class of 2014 Poker Hall of Fame is a very exciting prospect and I’m sure it will be a very humbling experience. I thank everyone involved in this process and to the WSOP, WPT and all of the great people I’ve met and the wonderful people I’ve worked with throughout the years. Thank you for bestowing this honor upon me. I’m very grateful.”

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
08 Feb 2018
Each year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker. The latest