Delhi Panthers Win India Poker Sports League for $225k

Delhi Panthers Win India Poker Sports League for $225kSeason 1 of the India Poker Sports League (PSL) drew to an exciting conclusion on Sunday, with the Delhi Panthers triumphing over the Mumbai Achors to claim the title, as well as first place prize of around US$225,000.
Twelve teams of nine players originally took part in the initial phase of the competition which finished on March 28. By the end of this period, the Delhi Panthers had subsequently earned the most points to top the leaderboard, and on May 28th the teams then descended upon the Deltin Casino Royale in Goa for a five-day contest to decide the league’s inaugural winner.
It wasn’t all plain sailing for the team representing Delhi, though, and by Day 2 they had fallen out of a top three position, before rallying for one tremendous push on the final day of play. As well as creating a fascinating climax to proceedings, interest in the contest was also given a further boost by the addition of US pro Alec Torelli and the UK’s Sam Razavi as wild cards in the PSL, with a huge 2.8 million people tuning into the League’s Facebook stream to view their game on Day 4.
Champion team aside, Season 1 of the PSL has been hailed as a great success by its organizers, Amit Burman, Anuj Gupta, co-owner of India’s biggest online poker site called, and Pranav Bagai, with the latter commenting:
“The journey of the league has been a roller coaster ride and initially many could not believe that the league would materialize in to something as large as other sports leagues in the country. The never seen before structures and massive prize pool kept the adrenaline rush going for the players along with a chance to make some serious money.”
Also throwing their support behind the PSL were such sponsors as Jet Airways, Real Activ, Bira 91, and John Jacobs Eyewear. The PSL was also given an extra air of credibility by the addition of Australian 2-times WSOP bracelet winner Mel Judah, as the League’s tournament director. Looking ahead, Pranav Bagai stated:
“On closing our first season with a splendid grand finale, we are sure that this is definitely not a one-and-done season. We have plans to come up with season two next year.”

Other news:   2023 World Series of Poker registration opens

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
PokerStars Introduces New Hold’em Variant Called Showtime
26 May 2018
Over the years, PokerStars has prided itself on continuously inventing new poker variants in order help keep players interested in the game, with examples that spring to mind including Zoom, Beat The Clock, KO Poker, and Spin & Gos. More recently, an adaption of the “run it twice” concept was introduced called Split Hold’em in
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365