2012 European Poker Awards Winners

2012 European Poker Awards WinnersThis week, the Aviation Club De Paris played host to the twelfth annual European Poker Awards in honour of the best poker performances of 2012. It was also the first year the ceremony was sponsored by the Global Poker Index (GPI), with a number of additional awards handed out as a result.
Following a speech by GPI CEO Alexandre Dreyfus, Party Poker ambassador Kara Scott played hostess at the ceremony and was responsible for presenting trophies to category winners throughout the evening.
Amongst the players receiving awards was Denmark’s Gus Hansen, who was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award, while Rookie of the Year went to Ole Schemion. The German pro only cashed in at his first live tournament in 2011 and the following year earned $2,070,613 in tournament cashes, including victory at the  €8,500 Partouche Poker Tour for €1,172,850 ($1,474,671).
Another German in the guise of Marvin Rettenmaier then picked-up the GPI Player of the Year award, after a remarkable year in which he earned $2,503,015 from tournaments including 2 EPT titles, as well as back-to-back WPT titles.
France’s Lucille Cailly was recognized as Europe’s Leading Lady after winning $1,450,167 in 2012, including a 2nd place finish at the €10k EPT Grand Final Monte Carlo for €1,050,000 ($1,386,267). In addition, Best Tournament Performance of the Year went to Belgium’s Davidi Kitai, while Internet Player of the Year went to Finnish pro Jens Kyllönen with $2,492,278 in profits from online cash games during the year.
The Best Tournament of the Year award went to the EPT Barcelona; Poker Staff Person of the Year to Simon Trumper; and Poker Personality of the Year to Kara Scott. Finally, honoring the best players from each individual country, the following awards were presented:
French Player of the Year: Bertrand Grospellier
German Player of the Year: Marvin Rettenmaier
UK Player of the Year: Roberto Romanello
Belgian Player of the Year: Davidi Kitai
Irish Player of the Year: Dermot Blain
Finnish Player of the Year: Juha Helppi
Italian Player of the Year: Andrea Dato
Austrian Player of the Year: Ivo Donev
Spanish Player of the Year: Cesar Garcia
Congratulations from Onlinepoker.net to all the winners!

Other news:   Poker Hall of Fame nominees announced

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
08 Feb 2018
Each year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker. The latest